Smacking children is the best form of discipline. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people believe in the age-old practice of spanking children in order to teach them. Personally, I disagree with the idea of teaching young ones through punishment, because I believe that implementing others ways of controlling them will serve for the general good. Inflicting pain to the children is not the best way to ingrain rules and manners. The little ones, out of curiosity, which is their natural instinct, can be a troublemaker. Beating them, in reality puts an end to their curious behaviour. This, in turn, has several repercussions on brain development as the child might live in the fear of one's parents. Further, such kids might conceive their parents as evil, become stubborn and sometimes isolate themselves from their family. For instance, there have been reported cases in which children commit suicide out of the fear of the punishment they might receive from their parents. Nevertheless, I believe that alternative discipline strategies such as creating consequences for both good and unruly behaviours. This can only be developed by spending time with the child by understanding their physiology. For instance, taking away the favourite bedtime snack or toy as a result of unfinished dinner could be one method to show direct outcomes of bad behaviour. Praising good etiquettes of a toddler by rewarding with gift or complement is another way. Overall, linking a result directly to the conduct can induce a response that choices have direct consequences. In conclusion, I believe that it is entirely preposterous to hit a child to regulate him or her. Instead, inventing non lethal ways to tackle a youngster is a better way to discipline.