Some parents think it is good to give their children mobile phone, while others disagree. discuss both sides and give your opinion.

A few parents believe that children should own a handheld device while others have a different point of view. Using mobile phones by minors have been associated with major academic distractions, lack of family time and other vices, the only benefit a child derives from owning a handset is easily accessible. Hence, I disagree that children be given phones. Children generally lack the ability to be self disciplined. This is because, they enjoy gratification and spend long periods with phone applications, such as, games, pop-up adverts and films. In addition, minors can be on the phone all day long, disregarding the academic work, homework and family time, which would eventually have an adverse effect on the child, such as poor academic grades and obesity. For example, The world health organization quotes, 80% of childhood obesity are due to lack of activity, this is linked to the use of handsets. Apparently, the use of handsets in young children does more harm than good. On the other hand, children, who have handheld devices are easily accessed by family members, relatives, and friends, home and abroad, rather than sending letters which take days to weeks to be delivered. They are able to communicate easily and receive advice in the face of any challenge they face. For instance, a 12 year old cousin of mine, who missed his way back home from school easily reached out to his mother on his mobile phone and retraced his steps. Obviously, there are some benefits associated with the use of phones by kids In conclusion, children should not have access to mobile device as their minds are young and not able to handle prompt and accurate decision making. If in any case, a care-giver decides to give a handset to his or her ward, he must make out some time to monitor, supervise and discipline such child appropriately.