oo much emphasis is placed on testing these days. The need to prepare for tests and examinations is a restriction on teachers and also exerts unnecessary pressure on young learners. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include relevant example from your own knowledge or experience.

say – To test or not to test Date: April 11, 2017 Author: Cats 0 Comments Too much emphasis is placed on testing these days. The need to prepare for tests and examinations is a restriction on teachers and also exerts unnecessary pressure on young learners. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include relevant example from your own knowledge or experience. Nowadays, the school system is overly focused on exams As a result, students are stressed and teachers are unable to adapt courses to meet the needs of individuals. This essay will argue not only that this limitation on teachers is unnecessary, but also explain that there are superior methods of assessment which avoid causing undue stress to learners. First of all, just because sitting exams is the oldest known method of assessing students, it does not necessarily follow that it is the best. More and more educational institutions are experimenting with project based learning and continuous assessment. Take Finland, where these methods have been the norm in primary school for the past decade. So far the results are looking promising – pupils report much lower anxiety levels, and parents and teachers are confident children are assimilating the knowledge and skills necessary to prepare them for their future. A further advantage of this system is its ability to allow educators to adapt their programs for children with varying needs. Gifted young minds no longer have to go at the same pace as the average student, instead they are given personal projects and goals and continual feedback, allowing them to flourish. By the same token, children with learning difficulties are given the special attention they need, and are no longer put under pressure to keep up with the rest of the class. In conclusion, there are far superior options to the current practice of inflicting regular tests on students. These alternatives not only reduce stress-levels in schools, but also allow teachers to better adapt their courses to fit the wide range of needs of individual students.