TASK 2: Grandparents play a big role in the bringing up their grandchildren. Do you think it is useful for grandparents to be involved? What is your opinion

In the recent decades, grandparents are getting more involved in upbringing of their grandchildren. Some people believe that it is good to have the older members while children are growing up. I strongly agree with this view due to several reasons that I will discuss in greater detail in my essay. Firstly, it is an undeniable fact that parents are the best caretakers for their children. However, rising costs of living compels both the parents to work to meet the ends. In such a scenario, grandparents do come to ones’ rescue as they can nurture and provide a similar care to the children. Taking an example from my own life, since both my parents were working throughout my childhood, my grandparents played a major role in raising me. In fact, they provided me with a better comfort and warmth than my parents could due to their hectic work schedule. Hence, it is truly a blessing to have the grandparents around when children are growing up. Secondly, grandparents can impart good human values that are extremely important in today’s lives for the younger generation. Because this generation has low emotional quotient, staying with grandparents can teach them values such as respecting elders and being compassionate. Studies show that the children who have their grandparents around during their childhood develop faster emotional and social values than the children who are brought up in nuclear families. To conclude, in the progressive society, it is good to have grandparents involved in nurturing of the children as they can take good care of the younger ones and inculcate values that would be beneficial throughout the life.