In recent years many governments has brought in laws to ban smoking in public places, such as bars, restaurants and offices. To what extent do you agree or disagree with banning smoking in public places?

Nowadays, in many nations, smoking in public spaces has been restricted by law. This essay strongly agrees with this step taken by the authorities since smoking among people can cause health hazards and it also aids in pollution. To begin with, smoking not only harms the smoker but also others who inhale the fumes indirectly, as in public areas. It can contaminate open spaces and suffocate anyone who lives in those spaces. As the primary smokers are already habitual to smoke, their body can tolerate the toxins from cigarettes but the people who are exposed to such toxins cannot withstand it and hence, suffer from a range of breathing problems and pulmonary diseases. For instance, children of smokers who live in closed spaces are observed to develop lung diseases like COPD at a very young age despite never smoking first-hand. Additionally, people who smoke openly are also contributing to all kinds of environmental pollution. The resulting fumes of cigars and cigarettes add to gases which cause air pollution while the residual cigarette butts are thrown on land and in water polluting both land and water. Consequently, the life forms of water and land, both can be threatened. Legislating the limit of smoking places, can result in the disposal of such entities to an apt method. To conclude, smoking in public places can degrade the environment and ultimately, the beings living there. Due to this reason, the national law banning smoking in open places can be beneficial to not just humans but also animals and the environment. So, in my opinion, banning such an act should be the right thing to do.