some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. discuss both these views and give your opinion.

In this present world, learning a new language is of the most popular aspects of our lives. However, there is still an ongoing debate on whether learning a new language is related only to working or travelling purposes or there are other reasons for it. The argument that learning a new language is related only with travelling or working in a foreign country is an argument that is both agreed and disagreed with by many. The two sides of this argument will be thoroughly analysed and discussed in this essay before drawing a reasoned conclusion. First of all, lots of people try to learn a new language in order to prevent any communication problems that they could face when they are abroad for travelling or working purposes. For example, a Chinese man might have some difficulties in terms of communicating with the locals when he is in Africa. Another example is a Vietnamese man working in a coffee shop in France. It would be very challenging for him to communicate with people without any knowledge of the French language. This is why some people argue that learning a new language is associated only with travelling and working purposes. Nevertheless, learning a foreign language could be related to educational purposes. For instance, nowadays, lots of students want to study abroad in terms of getting their master's degree, since it would be beneficial for their career. Generally, those students have to prove that they have a basic knowledge of that country’s language in order to get admission. Therefore, it is clear that learning a new language is not associated only with travelling or working purposes, rather it could be related to educational purposes. To sum up, reasons for learning a foreign language is still argued by many. However, after a thorough analysis, it is clear that besides travelling and working abroad, there could be other reasons for learning a foreign language. Therefore, I disagree with the idea that suggests travel to or work in a foreign country is the only reason for learning a foreign language.