Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, debates related to economic progress are constantly on the rise. Most of the governments believe that economic development is their first priority. However, some people disagree with this idea and they suggest that there are other types of progresses that are equally important for a country. Both of these views will be thoroughly analysed and discussed in this essay before drawing a reasoned conclusion. First of all, the economy of a particular nation could give us information about how advanced that country is in terms of general development. This is the major reason why many governments focus mainly on economic development. For instance, the USA ranks one in terms of GDP (Gross Domestic Product) – a measurement of economic growth – while Turkey ranks thirteenth. Compared to Turkey, USA is far more developed in the overall. On the other hand, some individuals believe that governments should focus not only on the economic development but also on the other types of progresses such as educational development. Because, they think that investments in education sector could contribute to a country ’s economic growth. For example, people who get quality education will secure jobs with high salary. Which means they will pay higher taxes in return. Besides, high levels of education could increase productivity in a country which will also contribute to a country ’s economic growth in the long-run. To sum up, many governments think that economic progress is their first priority, since it shows how developed a country is in general. In contrast, some people believe that there are other types of progresses and governments should be equally concerned about all. In my opinion, after a thorough analysis of both views, it is clear that governments should be concerned about on every single progress, since those progresses could be beneficial for the country ’s overall growth.