Today’s schools should teach their students how to survive financially in the world today. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The world has undergone a large number of transformations. According to these changes, human beings have to learn some skills which have not been that much vital in the past. Hence, the mission of schools should not be confined to just literacy and numeracy. In doing so, teaching students some skills to survive in financial aspects of their lives is quite crucial. In my opinion, in most of today’s job requirements, the necessity of being well-informed about financial aspects of work is felt completely. So, learning these materials and knowledge could result in being qualified for more decent jobs with higher wages and benefits. For example, if an accountant knows the financial vision and goals of his company in depth, his outcome will be more effective and this can lead to longer contract and more profits for him. However, in some countries, for example Germany, a community subject is available in which politics and finances are discussed. This leaves students from Germany in a better situation to deal with finances in their lives. In addition, in this growing world with lots of complexities, learning economic and financial aspects of issues can result in improving problem solving abilities which empower people to encounter difficulties and boost the financial security in their lives. In other word, more advanced the world becomes, more sophistications people will face. All these complexities have economic aspects and all people need the related knowledge to tackle these kinds of problems and schools are one of the best place to teach them to people. To sum up, there are clear benefits of including techniques and knowledge to face financial issues in the student’s curriculum.