QUE: Government should spend money on railways rather than road. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

While many argue that the council should invest in building roads, others argue that investing in railways is a better investment. This essay supports that developing railways will bring pivotal enhancements in life as it promotes public transport and prevents pollution. Investing in public transport is always considered as a predominant factor for any nation building. This is because, it enables and empowers every class of people in society to reach their destinations for job or business purpose. To exemplify, the Mumbai government invested heavily in the metro rail project which helps to cover a distance of 30 kilometres in 20 minutes which earlier used to take 2 hours by road. As a consequence, now large amount of people commute to work by this mode, saving a huge amount of money and time. Trains also helps us to reduce the carbon footprint left by humans. Nowadays, mostly trains are electronic and do not use fossil fuels, which are generally used in cars. Moreover, trains can carry a huge number of people simultaneously, which reduces the frequency of to and fro required for a vehicle. As a result, there will be a large amount of people travelling with less pollution. For Example, Previously in Mumbai only, The Government built road and ran buses on the same route on which they built metro however, all these buses were running on diesel and each bus used to carry approximately 50 people, implies they required more buses and it reduced the air quality index and created traffic congestion. In Conclusion, Although many advocates that Government should pay attention to the improvement of roads, trains should be given priority as it creates huge positive impact on not only citizens but also on the environment.