In many professional sports, there is an increase in the number of athletes using banned substances to improve their performance. What are the causes of the phenomenon and what are some of the possible solutions?

The increase in the use of banned drugs has become a common problem the world over. In competitive sports, the use of illicit drugs amongst sports persons is soaring at a staggering rate, irrespective of their repercussions. This essay will argue that out of numerous the primary cause of drug abuse is to cope with stress, while to curb this concern establishment of anti-doping law is imperative. The major cause of using illegal medicines is the pressure, many players face during their entire career. This is to say that fans and kith and kin of these players have a lot of expectations from them. They want them to perform well, gain more fame, and increase their monetary status. As a result, they use unfair means to compete with others through the use of those illegitimate agents which give them strength, stamina required by an outclass player. For instance, adrenaline, banned for all sports players because it increases the strength of the player to ten-folds, however, it is permissible to use only in minute quantities under strict surveillance. The tackle with this predicament, the governments should impose anti-doping law, according to which complete assessment of the Olympians should be done on a quarterly basis. This includes the dope test which describes the intake amount of drug which is not legally mandated a player. Moreover, legal action should be taken against them in terms of putting them behind the bars, heavy fine penalties and forbade them to play for a long duration. For example, a similar initiative was taken in Australia, and a cricket player was banned throughout their life, which resulted in the 60% decrease in drug abuse. To conclude, the performance-enhancing drugs are being used by professional players in a reckless manner because of the peer pressure and fan-following. However, this evil could be culled assign a specified (usually proper) proper name to called through strict legislation which refrains them from using illicit drugs.