Levels of youth crime are increasing rapidly in most cities around the world. What are the reasons for this, and suggest some solutions

No issue in recent years as much as attention as the debate surrounding the increasing in the level of youth crimes. There are several reasons for this problem and various measures can be taken by governments, schools and parents to improve this situation. There are some reasons why the rate of crime in younger people has been growing. The first reason enhances the levels of poverty and lack of education. Indeed, in many cities around the world, poverty, encourages people to turn to crime in order to pay bills and meet family responsibilities. Since the people who live in the deprived areas are frequently compelled to work from an early age, are more likely to turn to mass. Secondly, young people can easily turn to crime owing to the lack of parental guidance. These days more parents in cities both have to work and are often away from home, and in turn they find it difficult to supervise and support their children when needed. Finally, another reason for this issue is that unemployment can lead people to crime due to financial pressure and also lack of structure in their daily lives. However, there are measures to tackle such problems. First of all, the governments should increase social benefits to alleviate poverty. Another way to combat the problem is to have stricter punishment to deter teenagers from mass. Governments also should enforce strict laws so as to prevent young people from committing a crime. In addition, youth should be taught by schools and parents to shun criminals and anti-social behaviour. At the end, offering training programs can stimulate employment, bring hope and give structure to people’s lives. In fact, education and employment can act as a deterrent. To sum up, the increasing level of youth crimes will only be solved if the above mentioned measures are implemented.