Tests and examinations are a central feature of school systems in many countries. Do you think the educational benefits of testing outweigh any disadvantages?

Often, heated debates spark among professionals in the field of education, whether the tests and examinations are imperative for students and to the school systems nowadays. While people who advocate for the exams often claim that it is an effective and unbiased way of measuring knowledge of the students; however, I would argue that the system has its own weaknesses and doubt the efficacy of its intended purpose. Admittedly, testing students with a piece of paper with several questions related to the subject that they have learned over the term is one of the streamlined methods of measuring student's learning ability and the knowledge. In the perspective of schools and teachers, educational benefits of testing may be tremendously appealing, as they can save a lot of resources by avoiding invention of different methods to measure the student's aptitude and effort. Furthermore, it is considered as a crucial factor for school systems as there is always a need for reference to measure student’s learning progress. However, it is a known fact that the students learn differently and they have their unique inclinations on the different subject of studies. Testing and examinations lacks its effectiveness of accounting for such differences; the streamlined method may overlook the details of individual students, which is critical information for teachers or professors to provide effective education system. Since the current testing system lacks the feature of correctly recognizing the difference, it cannot be considered as a central feature in the current education system; therefore the gravity should be placed in other educational features. To conclude, people who believe the educational benefit of tests and examinations may claim that it is a crucial feature of the current education system; yet, it lacks its effectiveness and easily exposed with many points of failure.