People are using a lot of online language translation apps. Do the benefits of these outweigh the disadvantages?

Due to globalization, the importance and popularity of web-based translation applications have grown over the past few years. People from vastly different geographical zones and educational backgrounds are more inclined to use these apps to learn and understand various foreign languages. I strongly agree that the positives of this development outweigh the negatives. On the one hand, there are ample evidences that the constant access to mobile phones has been immeasurably beneficial not only to to our business career but also our social lives. Nowadays, citizens are migrating to overseas countries in order to build a quality life and dealing with people from various nations become a necessity. The access to different languages is highly valuable in such dealings. For instance, Play Store and Apple App Store offer a plethora of paid as well as free-to-use apps such as Duolingo, which instantly translate one language into another allowing crucial communication to happen seamlessly. Therefore, it is apparent that many key aspects of people's lives are being made easier through these handy and ready-to use solutions. On the other hand, whether language conversion apps benefit the public or cause potential losses to a section of society is also a controversial topic of discussion. Although the online applications are convenient, they might not be effective to achieve a proficient level of fluency as compared to what talented and experienced professors, translators, and interpreters can offer. To illustrate, a recent study published in The Times newspaper has shown that there is a significant reduction in demand for bilingual teachers or native language tutors as more people have started using such apps instead of spending money on the specialist tuition required to learn a new tongue. Thus, they have to fight to justify their relevance in this new world. To conclude, I believe that though the conversion applications are not as efficient as a personal teacher, they play a dominant role in the present society due to its effectiveness and convenience.