With a great variety of social networking websites, people often add complete strangers to their lists. Do you think that this tendency helps people to find new friends or it's just a mean to increase their self-esteem. Justify your opinion with relevant examples.

The Internet has infiltrated almost all aspects of our social life in cyberspace through numerous social media platforms. Presently, as part of a trend more and more people connect by accepting new friend requests in online platforms. Therefore, it has long been a centre of discussion whether this online trend is helpful for people to make new friends or to make the most of this random relationship. It is my contention that there is no black-and-white condition here, thus, the outcome of this inclination rigorously depends on a person's perspective. First and foremost, as we live on the edge of technology, almost everyone has a social media account to share the moments with friends and relatives. However, these websites come in handy when people need to meet with foreigners in a cyber environment. To exemplify my statement, a majority of the people on my friend list are individuals whom I met on platforms such as LinkedIn, Instagram, and Facebook. Furthermore, certain platforms can be utilized as a tool to develop companionships on the professional level, elevating productivity to another peak. On the other hand, some social media users send or accept multiple friend requests in order to increase the volume of their friendship list as a sign of competition. Some individuals may prioritize quantity over quality in their online connections, aiming to gain a huge number of followers or friends to create an impression of popularity and importance. Moreover, the superficial nature of many relationships like this can hinder you from developing genuine relations. Interactions are often linked to likes, exaggerated comments and erroneous lenses that lack the depth and intimacy necessary for meaningful relationships to flourish. In conclusion, while social media accounts furnish people with the ability to make new connections, the underlying motivations behind this trend space a place for the scepticism to rise as these are opportunistic relationships.