In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decides to do this?

In some nations young adults are inspired to take up employment or tour the world for twelve months between leaving high school and enrolling into higher institution. Youths who decide to travel or work has an edge over their peers, but there are drawbacks to be considered. One benefit of encouraging youngsters to get a job or travel after secondary school before pursuing higher degree is that it gives them an edge over others. That is, they have an advantage over their peers, and this makes them relevant. For example, my neighbour’s daughter, who travelled to France after her secondary school education, was the best in her linguistic class at the university and was ahead of her course mates because she has a broad knowledge about different subject matter. So, touring before higher learning is beneficial because it gives one an edge over others. One negative aspect of inspiring young people to work or tour the world before starting a higher institution is that youngsters might not be able to re adapt to the academic environment. In other words, they might feel they should continue with the job rather than being trapped in a university as they have experienced what making money entails. For instance, my cousin who did his internship with google now makes money from writing softwares, and he refused to further his education despite persuasions because he feels it will slow him down. Therefore, travelling before going to the university will hinder young people from adapting effectively. In conclusion, while there are benefits when young people travel or are employed before going for higher learning, the youngsters feel continuing to the tertiary level is a waste of time.