Some people think that the internet makes a person more sociable, while others think it makes a person less sociable. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some would argue that people are becoming more sociable with the help of the internet, while others say that it has adversely impacted the social nature of humans. While the internet can connect with people from other nations, I believe that it is isolating individuals from their immediate surroundings. On the one hand, it is often cited that the web helps people interact not only with the users of their own country, but also with the citizens of other nationalities. For example, it is not unusual for an Indian user to chat with someone from the west. This practice, therefore, has transcended the national boundaries and is transforming the whole world into a global village in which people are learning about the western lifestyle and trying to imitate it. Hence, the internet is serving as a platform to interact with other people and broaden the social circle of an individual. I, however, believe that it makes people less sociable, as they tend to withdraw themselves from the real world and remain occupied with their online friends. On the other hand, some people believe that using the internet for socialising is cutting people off from their surroundings and I agree. It is now often seen that most of the individuals remain clung to their smartphones or computers to converse with their social media friends, isolating themselves from their family members and peers; thus, they are leading towards a sedentary lifestyle which may result in several health complications: mental as well as physical. In a research, WHO has reported that till 2030, 50 per cent children would be overweight, owing to the inactive life they are leading to. In conclusion, although the internet is helping people to interact with others on social media platforms, I believe it is making them less sociable in their real life and compelling them to live an isolated life.