Memorising facts is the most important way to succeed in education. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In today's world, education has become an inevitable part of one's living and a major expenditure which attributes close to 40% of expenses during a person's lifetime. However, some people, believe education to be mere memorising of facts blindly and not an activity that requires application of mind. Hence, I totally disagree with this viewpoint and in this essay I would be discussing the reasons for the same. Education enlightens an individual's mind so that he can progress from darkness to light.If one studies, facts blindly without knowing how to apply them practically, he would be making a fool of himself. " A jack of all trades, but a master of none " the famous English proverb would be the most apt description of such a person. Unless, one's mind is applied fully to his studies, he wouldn't be able to make any serious contribution to the society. For example, if Einstein had merely memorized facts, the light bulb would never have been invented. He applied what he studied to the problems he had before him. Furthermore, problem solving and other soft skills are to be developed among students. Unfortunately, in many countries, especially India, the number of graduates from colleges don't fit for employment. For instance, there are many courses which require practical experience like that of Engineers and Doctors and not mere classroom training, and not providing them with the requisite infrastructure creates a new generation of unemployed youth. To summarize, memorizing facts blindly has never created nor will it create new innovative ideas. In a world, that is fast changing, innovation is to be encouraged and promoted rather than raw fact accumulation. Moreover, these facts can easily be stored and processed on a computer, requiring no human brains and this has proved to be more accurate and faster. Hence, the raw data accumulation is becoming an old requirement.