Some people claim that it is acceptable to use animals in medical research for the benefit of human beings, while others argue that it is wrong. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is true that animals are used for research in a variety of seating, including tests to determine the safety of drugs, cosmetics and other substances. Although reasons can be given to justify this view, I personally believe that these experiments should be banned because it is ethically unacceptable. There are several reasons why some people support using the animal in the medical research and other product testing. Firstly, the human is the important being on the planet, so everything should be done to ensure human safety and survival. Animal testing enables scientists and researchers to test the safety of medication and other substance with which humans have regular contacts. Drugs, for instance, may pose significant harm to humans, so testing them on animals first give researchers good chance to determine drug safety before human trials are performed. Secondly, researchers aim to minimise the suffering that animals experience in experiments by giving painkiller and anaesthetic drugs. However, I would strongly agree with those who believe that animal experiments should be banned. Animal right activists (who defend animal right) argue that the lives of animals should be respected. The benefits of research using animals do not justify the suffering caused and the ethical debate against animals testing. Also, there are alternative non-animals, methods of testing. For instance, computerised human - patient simulators and In vitro testing, which is defined as a research using human cells and tissue can be used instead of using animals. In conclusion, there are some convincing arguments for and against animal testing, but I strongly believe that we as humans have no moral right to do experiments on animals and we should do everything we can to protect them.