🔶Nowadays more and more business meetings and business trainings are taking place online. 🔸Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

With the Internet facilitating communication, businesses are increasingly switching from in-person meetings and training to online ones. From my point of view, such a growing trend offers more benefits when compared to its disadvantages. Personnel’ scant knowledge of online technologies is one of the potential drawbacks of online training and meetings. In other words, even though holding educational or conference sessions via the Internet and electronic devices could be notably convenient, performing such a method requires staff to have at least basic knowledge about such technologies. Otherwise, some of the attendees are bound to feel mortified due to their lack of knowledge in this regard. Another obvious downside is related to interpersonal interactions. For instance, when partaking in a virtual meeting, attendees are likely to be deprived of expressing themselves distinctly through their facial or bodily gestures, which they unconsciously and normally use to convey and clarify their intentions, making them more prone to be misunderstood. However, this issue could be resolved by using web conference software such as Skype. Despite the mentioned disadvantages, businesses can enjoy higher accessibility of virtual meetings and training courses compared to physical ones. This means that employees and experts can participate in and join online conferences or courses, irrespective of their location or regional time. Moreover, in comparison to in-person training and meetings, online ones tend to be more budget-friendly, particularly in cases that holding a physical meeting or training course demands significant preparation and funds, for instance, to rent a place. Therefore, it could be asserted that switching to online training and meeting would enable businesses to reduce their costs, despite having to allocate funds for the initial costs. In conclusion, I am of the opinion that the increasing tendency of organizations towards e-meetings and e-trainings, namely, reduction in costs and greater accessibility outweigh the possible disadvantages such as the requirement for technological knowledge and the loss of physical gestures.