Some people believe that the radio is more enjoyable and practical than TV. Do you agree?

For many years TV has been the favoured media for popular entertainment and news by a great majority of people, but there are increasing numbers of other people who prefer radio and I entirely agree with the latter view. First, TV provides both audio and visual impact. Furthermore, television combined with advancing technologies such as AI and 3D fulfils the demands of audiences with a variety of media to choose from. But, there is no doubt the moving picture experience and animation can also ruin our imagination. For this reason, most of the televised series adapted from novels often receives negative comments. People who have read the books already hold the story in their minds with set images for all the characters and scenarios. As a result, when they see the same scenes dramatised visually. This can make it hard for the viewer to match what they imagined with the adaptations they see. Though radio does not offer any visual imagery it does have its own unique appeal which I wish to follow up on. Firstly, the voices and sound effects alone can inspire audiences to think about related events in their own lives or a novel they have read, or for that matter to let their minds run wild. Secondly, it gives people the virtue and space to imagine and create visualisations in their minds independently. Besides, compared with viewing programs, listening options are more available and accessible to most of us. It is easy to illustrate. You only need to think about the situation on your way home while commuting, it is likely you turn on the radio application your phone has rather than the video. In conclusion, it is fair to state that on balance the two mediums both have their advantages and disadvantages, one may offer visual spectacle, but limits the imagination of the audience while the other enhances it. Personally, listening is more enjoyable and practical than watching programmes most of the time.