Many companies sponsor sports as a way of advertising themselves. Some people think that it is good thing, while others think that it has disadvantages. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

These days, many organizations are sponsoring sports as a mode of presenting themselves to people. Although some individuals propound that it has demerits, others opine that it is a good thing. This essay will discuss and delve into both the views in the ensuing paragraphs and an opinion will be made in the end. To start with, it is considered by many that excessive involvement of companies will result in commercialization of the sport. That is to say, companies will look into their business profits and they often tend to tweak the format of the game to meet their commercial requirements. Consequently, these sports will turn into a profit making business for firms rather than sticking to its authenticity. For instance, a report by Sports centre unearthed a fact that in 2011 organizers of Tokyo annual soccer competition had to add a couple of additional breaks in the game just to satisfy the marketing purpose of sponsors. Conversely, despite a few shortcomings that are concerned around companies marketing strategies, their investment in promoting the individual sports and events has been proven to be extremely beneficial. In other words, these sponsorships which are helpful for sports personnel economically to equip themselves with better gear and for maintaining a strict food habits, which are extremely expensive. Apparently, if these companies hadn't sponsored the sports, we would not have seen many highly talented athletes. For example, A recent study conducted at an Australian sport university stated that athletes who are receiving sponsorship are performing well in sports when compared to the ones that doesn't get sponsored. In conclusion, I am convinced that sponsorships provided by the companies have always given fruitful results more often than not, even though few argue that it is just a method of corporations to advertise themselves.