Most major cities around the world continue to grow at a phenomenal rate due to the massive increase in population. This has led to a general decline in the quality of life in city areas as the environment becomes more crowded and polluted. Give some reasons why this growth has occurred and suggest some practical solutions to this problem.

Over the past few decades, there has been a profound increase in the number of people electing to live in main cities. This preference has caused the quality of life to deteriorate due to overcrowding and pollution. This essay will discuss the reasons for the increase in population and suggest ways to resolve this issue. One main reason for this concern could be the better job opportunities that cities offer. This is because, many individuals are attracted by the chance to exponentially grow both personally and professionally. For example, an individual’s income in a major city would be much higher than their income in a rural area whilst performing the same job. Higher pay is essential to support their family and loved ones in today’s fast-paced world. Another reason could be that, by living in cities, they have access to world-class healthcare facilities. However, the lack of such equipment in rural areas and to ensure the well-being of themselves and their family, individuals choose to reside in cities. Additionally, in certain medical cases, these devices could be the difference between life and death. Despite these convincing reasons, the detrimental effects of the growing city population on the overall quality of life cannot be ignored. To resolve these undesirable effects, the government can improve job opportunities in rural areas. Better employment is the main reason why people are attracted to cities. If the government introduces equally well-paying jobs in rural areas, the growth in the population in cities can be reduced. To further aid this cause, the government can organise campaigns that spread awareness and educate the public. These events could highlight the importance of a better quality of life and provide evidence of the significant improvement to this criteria when living in rural areas. In conclusion, the primary reasons attracting people to the cities are better employment conditions and advanced medical care. Steps that can be taken to resolve these concerns could be to improve salaries in rural areas and to educate the people on the positive effects on quality of life.