In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

As a matter of fact, that changing in the style of shopping has occupied a significant number of people’s interest and discussions. It is a reason for a considerable statics of issues. No one can deny that, travelling of people to large malls and centres needs a sincere effort and precise thinking of the owners of local shops, people, and the government, in order to face the drawbacks of such issue and find the appropriate solution for that negative improvement. Let us talk about its effect on the owners of local shops. Firstly, these owners will affect negatively by that change, as they will lose their customers, consequently, their profit margin will decline. Secondly, they have to make downsize and the number of employees will decrease, so the income of such people will be affected and they will struggle to cover their basic needs. For instance, the shops must pay the electricity bills on a monthly basis, hence, if the profit margin drops off, they would terminate some of the staff to decrease their expenses. Moreover, that change will have an adverse effect on people. As, when they go to the large malls and centres, they will pay more starting from the fees for parking, and get some goods that they do not to purchase. For example, a small family goes to a mall which has an enormous number of shops with a variety of categories, they buy things that they really do not need, just because there is an offer. Eventually, I do believe that this problem can come to end if we exert our efforts to solve it. It needs the co-operation between governments, people, and the owners of the town stores. The government has to increase the taxes of the shops in the malls, also the owners have to compete in the market, either by making a special promotions and discounts or make a marketing plan to increase the awareness of their stores. Individuals must make the balance between their needs to decide, when they have to go to malls or when to purchase from local shops.