Most people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional or religious festivals; during festival periods, people nowadays only want to enjoy themselves. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion

The current trend of celebrating festivals has changed compared to how it was previously celebrated. People tend to spend these holidays as a vacation rather than following the cultural customs. It's a person's choice whether to believe or not believe the customs, but they must spend festivals with their people they love. Most people believe it's pointless in following certain traditions as it does not have a proper reason behind it. They think it's not practical or valid anymore. For instance, Diwali is celebrated in India, the main purpose being the defeat of king Ravana, where they build tall statues of Ravana and watch it burn. Firstly, it's a negative thought to celebrate the death of a person even though he has bad intentions. Secondly, it causes a huge amount of air pollution, which leads to various other environmental problems. There are reasons that traditional beliefs haven't been following lately, but spending that time alone with themselves isn't the right option either. Life in this world has become so hectic. Any chance of a holiday, people just want to relax and do chores. According to me, the main reason behind festivals is to spend quality time with the family and friends, and make some good memories. They can have a good feast and catch up with the family. Grandparents eagerly wait for these as they want to meet their children and grandchildren. In conclusion, it's not necessary to follow the proper way of celebrating holidays, but it's important to spend time with family and friends during festivals as its a way to reunite and strengthen the bond of relationships.