Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Other however believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, in most societies antisocial behaviour is an urgent problem. Some people consider that long prison sentences are necessary to reduce levels of crime. Others find that there are more effective alternative methods to lower crime rates. This essay will discuss about both views and I will provide my own opinion. In modern society, many countries practice alternative methods such as community service. This gives a prisoner the opportunity to give positive back to society and it may improve their behaviour. Also, spending a long time term in prison with other criminals will not change offenders' character. I consider that work for the community more effective methods than long time sentences because the prisoner will focus on benefits for society. Other people believe that criminals need imprisonment for the long term. Firstly, spending a long time in prison provides an opportunity to rehabilitate a prisoner. Also, criminals need to spend enough time for re-education, which will avoid repeat offenders in the future. It is the perfect option for those, who commit the severe crime such as murder or assault, as justice for the victim should take priority. To conclude, the government in every country could focus on the causes of crime and needs of society to prevent offences. This essay contains some argument for and against long time sentences, which prove my opinion.