Some people believe that there should be fixed punishment fo each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, the crime rate is increasing, since many more crimes have been recognized as they are. In fact, in the recent years, sexual or child abuse or also domestic violences have been finally defined as huge injuries. However, the punishment topic behind different kinds of crimes seems to be still deeply discussed. For many, we should define fixed punishment, while others claim that all judgements should be comprised also the reasons that some illegal activities could hide. In this essay, I will discuss both the idea and suggest some food for thought. There are several benefits in defining fixed punishment, since in this way people are already aware of what they can risk and maybe they can be scared enough to give up the idea of committing injuries. What I mean is that if we define severe penalty, we can discourage some crimes. In addition, fixed punishment could speed up the trials, avoiding all the bureaucratic staffs and ensuring also an equal judgment and justice for all harmed people in the same conditions. Turning to the other side of the story, for specific crimes, maybe could be relevant to understand what were the causes and problems that have pushed someone to violate laws. In minor crimes, as thieving or selling illegal drugs, often are hidden poverty and misery of people who cannot effort anything. In these cases, it is still fundamental to punish the culprits, but maybe we should find out other kinds of castigations, in order maybe to educate them and also to offer some instruments to overcome economic issues. All the things considered, in many situations it is hard to generalize, supporting the idea of fixed punishment and maybe we should start to evaluate the explanations behind some crimes. Personally, I believe that the deep meaning of punishment is to educate, in order to avoid the same situation again, and therefore we should always keep in mind that criminals are still human beings.