While it is sometimes thought that prison is the best place for criminals, others believe that there are better ways to deal with them. What is your opinion?

Some critics consider that criminals should imprison to the jail, whereas there are many other beneficial approaches, which can be instead of handling them. In my opinion, I believe offenders can have positive contributions to society if they are not only puts behind bars. When it comes to prison, many taxpayers argue that paying the bills for criminal's accommodation is an illogical thing as offenders commit heinous crimes, but still receive benefits from society. Therefore, criminals should be forced to take part in doing community service in order to make a balance with taxpayers. Doing so, simultaneously, can also make up society's needs, such as lack of labourers to work unskilled jobs. There is no doubt that it is a cost effective punishment and a cheaper alternative to prison. For some offenders who have been sentenced to long term in prison, they could fact difficulties to be employed again after released. This is because they have crime records, which are not accepted by society. However, doing community service can give them a new chance to reform, change their impression on society and also prevent them breaking a law again on the condition that they are willing to change their mindsets. What is more, if ex-convicts continue to utilize their personal skills during their sentence, it will help them to be employable. As a result, prison is not the only method to retribution offenders. In conclusion, although some supporters of the prison believe that it is an optimistic way to sentence criminals, I agree with others that being effective to use ex-convict's skills to do community service is the best option for the public.