In recent years, the family structure has changed, as well as family roles. What are the changes occurring? Do you think these changes are positive or negative?

The phenomenon seen in modern society is the families's size change. The changes of family structure cause the roles of them as well. The small size of the family would bring the positive effects which the family relationships can be close. However, I strongly believe that the forms of family which have been changed by modernize would cause the negative effects in society. First of all, in modern society, the extended families are rare and the small size families, such as the nuclear family, one-parent family, and one-person household, have increased significantly. This phenomenon would cause the problems on people’s mental health. People need interaction in the relationship. The person who live their own cannot share the high or low of their daily life, it may bring mental problem such as the boredom or loneliness problem. When it comes to children, in the past the extended family members, such as grandparents, uncle, and aunty, functioned as the influencer a power to affect persons or events especially power based on prestige etc influence to children. However, in these days, busy parents have to rely on the nannies, after-school class or private education institute for their children. It means that the influencer a power to affect persons or events especially power based on prestige etc influence is changed from relatives to other things, such as television, the internet and other people which is not family. This phenomenon would cause negative effects to children’s development, such as behavioural and psychological problem. In conclusion, the family’s changes of structure and roles have caused severe social problems in contemporary society. I believe people can be happy in extended family because people need interaction with others.