There is an increasing trend around the world towards having a small family rather than a large family. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The tendency to have little families instead of big ones has been gaining momentum over the last decades. Some people believe that the pros of a new trend far outweigh all the drawbacks. It is agreed that shrank households are more flexible and suitable for living and thriving in our fast-paced and ever-changing world. This essay will shed some light on the issue and provide several examples to support the thesis. On the one hand, new types of households can have higher incomes and provide more options for self-realization. For instance, if individuals have only one ward or do not have kids at all, they can buy smaller apartments, work less and spend their free time and financial resources on different hobbies like painting or music. Such an approach helps utilize the inner potential and, according to modern scientific studies, feel happier on a daily basis. Thus, the shift from one paradigm to another provided additional opportunities for young generations. On the other hand, the new way of family creation does not provide enough room for building meaningful connections between generations and deprives offspring of previous generations' experiences. For example, according to a study conducted at the University of North Carolina, modern children need two additional years to be prepared for real life and to be ready to leave their parents' houses in comparison with the previous generation of their moms and dads. Moreover, all these changes exert severe pressure on children's minds and make them even more dependable. To sum up, as we can see, the new trend has as the benefits as the disadvantages. From my point of view, the advantages of self-realization and the ability to live as you like far outweigh all the drawbacks of small families because I believe that only happy, self-actualized parents are able to bring up resourceful and happy descendants.