Many young people are leaving their homes in rural areas to study or work in the cities. What are the reasons? Do the advantages of this development outweigh its disadvantages?

It becomes a very common trend for young adults to move to urban areas to be admitted to well renowned universities and to look for better working opportunities. This essay will discuss its causes and the benefits and demerits of this development. Personally, I believe that its negative sides supersedes the advantages. Firstly, one of the reasons why people prefer to live in cities is because they find it harder to have promising career and to advance in their position while working in the rural areas. Most jobs in villages offer limited benefits, wage increase and personal trainings and development. For example, in the Philippines, salaries are relatively lower in provinces as compared to what the minimum wage employee can earn. Secondly, as people foresee that there is lack of employment opportunities in their hometown, and universities and colleges from where applicants graduated had become a contributing factor to be selected in top companies, they had to study to these better colleges which offer competent educational curriculum and facilities which are mostly available in cities only. One of the advantages of this is people become to learn to live independently as they no longer have their parents to sustain their daily needs and offer minor decisions in their routines. In addition to that, experiences and learnings that cities can offer are undoubtedly helpful for one’s personal development. With past-faced and changing environment and differences among people to deal with in the cities can definitely lead to improve one’s adaptability and growth. On the other hand, as more people try to relocate in urban areas, increase in traffic congestion and pollution, which are now considered as city problems that are extremely difficult to resolve. More time is being wasted on the roads instead of using it as quality time for the family or to be more productive. Furthermore, as people try to move out of their hometowns, these places become under-develop because of lack of skills and workforce. It hampers the growth of these communities as investors and entrepreneurs would still prefer to build their business in cities as they find that they will become more successful in areas with more people living around. Hence, these would result to slow progress of the nation as there is no equal distribution of opportunities for growth among different areas of the country. In conclusion, the downside of this trend has become more evident as today’s generation is already facing the negative impact it has caused among the people and for the country, which overall outweighs the benefits.