Nowadays many people have access to computers on a wide basis and a large number of children play computer games. What are the positive and negative impacts of playing computer games and what can be done to minimize the bad effects?

Computers have become a tool that people all over the world are using on a daily basis, and due to the easy access to computers nowadays, computer games have become a popular entertainment for kids. This essay will show how computer games can develop children's creativity, but at the same time may cause addiction which can be solved by good time management. On the good side, computer games can encourage kids to think in an innovative and creative way. As the computer game is executed in a virtual environment, things that are impossible in the real world might be realised in a game. For example, the Portal game revolves around the concept that a pair of portals can be shot at any two places and connect them together. Hence, children need to solve puzzles using the portals they created, making them think creatively and develop original solutions. On the other hand, playing video games too much can lead to addiction. A lot of computer games are progress-based, meaning that putting more time into it will produce better results. However, some games are designed to have infinite progression in order to provide never-ending content. Without good time management, children can easily get addicted to it, spending all their time on games instead of studying, which results in bad grades. In order to minimize the possibility for kids to become addicted to games, one effective method is to introduce a timer during their gaming routine. Parents can limit the time their children spend on video games every day, or cut several hours of gaming into multiple sessions. They can also increase the available playtime for kids as a reward for their studies, encouraging them to get good grades at school. All in all, computer games can develop children's creativity, but at the same time cause possible addiction, which can be prevented by good time management practices from parents.