Doing an enjoyable activity with a child can develop better skills and more creativity than reading. To what extent do you agree? Use reasons and specific examples to explain your answer. IELTS Essay Sample Answer (1)

Recently, it has been observed that playing with the kids in the form of fun activities has tremendously helped the children in their personal development rather than studying books. Although, reading is also important for their academic life, but, activities like playing chess, crosswords and creative arts develop their brain much faster. I largely agree with this statement. First of all, child mind is like a clay which can be moulded in any form. At this age, children want to play more and often find studies boring, so it is very important to play with them physics related, mathematics related and puzzle games, as these will increase their reasoning and Analytical skills and they never feel bored. To add further, fun activities also develop leadership and planning skills in them. For instance, after office hours, I used to play crosswords with my daughter, as a result, she develops a plethora of English vocabulary words and using them in her day to day communication. Furthermore, creative arts also play an essential role in the development of the child, as it helps them in increasing their intellectual skills and widen their horizons. Children learn how to make things out of waste products and use them for different purposes. Through the creative arts, their hidden talent comes out. For instance, once I gave an empty water bottle to my children and told her to do something creative, I was completely surprised, when she converted that into a flower pot. Although, enjoyable activity and creative arts develop skills in young, but at the same time reading is equally important, as reading is eye exercise, it develops their skimming and scanning speed and also develops mind eye coordination, which is essential for excelling in their academic journey. To conclude, both reading and enjoyable activities are important for the overall growth of the child, but indulging them in creative arts and fun games helps them to develop their skills faster.