In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

A large number of people worldwide are affected by famine despite progresses made in the field of agriculture. I can identify two causes of this situation and two solutions that can be adopted, which I will describe now. Possibly the most common cause of hunger is related to the fact that the countries deeply affected by this situation are poor and do not have the means to provide for their population. New methods of cultivating crops are affordable only by financially capable countries. Moreover, many of the countries suffering from famine are geographically located in areas on Earth where there is a dearth of rainfall. For example, it may not rain for months in Yemen and hence agriculture is not supported in the bare lands there. With regards to solutions, there should be cooperation among many rich countries such as the US and the UK to help such countries in times of dire need. Instead of sending money, which may not always be used for the benefit of the people, they could send food and water directly to satisfy their hunger. A further step that could be undertaken with international aid would be to produce artificial clouds and rainfalls in some parts where population is dense to provide for a maximum number of people at a time. Moreover, scientists are doing research on how some plants can still be made to grow on dry lands; these results, if positive, could be used in the future by these poor countries. In conclusion, the geographical location and the insufficient means of some countries make it vulnerable to hunger. However, with international aid and scientific progresses, these situations can be remedied gradually.