24. In some countries, young people are encouraged to work and travel for a year finishing high school and starting university study. Discuss advantage and disadvantage for your people who decide to do it.

It is a fact that selecting a right career pathway is crucial for the youth's future life when they graduate from high school. Some youngsters  prefer to travel around the world or working in workforce to gain experience before entering universities; while, others enrol themselves in post-secondary education right after the graduations. These two pathways will both have advantages for the youth.The essay will discuss these two options separately. To begin with, firstly,  Spending time travelling or working will provide opportunities for high school graduates understand themselves better. The majority of  them may have limited knowledge about working industries or lack of self-awareness; therefore, it may be  a challenge for them to select a proper major that they are interested. For example, one-year travelling and working experiences will expand their horizontal knowledge and learn more about themselves. Moreover,  they also earn some money for their tuition as well. As a result, the youth may mature enough to select their careers to pursue. However, some new graduates will attend universities right after high school. Firstly, they believe that travelling and working will waste their precious time. Travelling will increase the risks for the youth to nurture negative habits, such as smoking, drinking, doing drugs, and so on. In addition, working in labour jobs will not benefit their personal developments and sometimes, some of them may never go back to colleges again. Directly pursuing university education will assist students to stay concentration in their academic study.  In conclusion,  whether having a short period for travelling or working or not depends on a high school graduate individually. I personally believe that they should make a serious decision after consulting their parents or mentors. Travelling around and working may not be suitable for all students due to  the above reasons. However, pursuing advanced academic educations in universities play a significant role in students' future life.