The only way to improve safety on our roads is to give much stricter punishments for driving offences. What extend do you agree or disagree?

Owing to the problem of increased number of road accidents, the safety of the citizens is a great concern; however, this problem can be controlled to some extent by imposing stricter punishments for driving offences. I agree to the idea of imposing stricter punishments for driving offences. The most common cause of road accidents reported these days is drunk driving. Drunk driving is a serious issue in every country. There is an increased reports of drunk driving in the recent times. Government must impose a stricter punishment for this offence as it is a man made issue and can be tackled if acted accordingly. Punishments like cancellation of driver's license, or a penalty can control this traffic offence to an extend. Also, authorities must keep a constant check on such drivers and an alert system should be implemented. In addition, to this there are many other causes of road accidents, namely: violation of traffic rules, failure to stop at pedestrian crossings, over-speeding, jaywalking and many more. Competition between young drivers have become a serious issue these days. Traffic department must start an awareness program to all citizens about traffic rules and consequences faced for violating them. The awareness program must be good enough to attract all age groups as it is a better to instill positive attitude in young minds as it will be perceived well. In conclusion, I believe that imposing strict punishments for driving offences can ensure safety on roads relatively. In addition, the pedestrians should be made aware of the rules.