An increasing number of professionals, such as doctors and teachers, are leaving their own poorer countries to work in developed countries. What problems does this cause? What can be done to deal with this situation?

It is undeniably true that, nowadays there has been a tremendous increase in the “brain drain” from underdeveloped countries. The ratio of professionals leaving their poor countries to find jobs in the developed countries is increasing day by day. This causes some serious problems, some of which I would discuss in this essay, along with some suggested solutions. Firstly, with the increasing number of well-educated people leaving their countries, it is the local natives who take the toll. For example, the poor people of the country are deprived of standard education and health benefits, when more and more of the teachers and doctors leave their own people and settle abroad for their own sake. This problem can be addressed, if the government registers the professionals who leave their own countries and compels them to return to their homeland after a defined period, by forming certain rules and regulations and following them strictly. Secondly, it is the development of the countries that is hugely affected by experienced people leaving their countries. For instance, countries like Bangladesh and Pakistan are still considered under-developed even after approximately 70 years of independence. This is because, the talented people in these countries do not prefer to stay and work there due to lack of opportunities and poor working places. This problem can be solved if the administration provides attractive salary packages, improves the standard of the working environment and provides a platform for encouraging the work of the innovative people. To conclude, the mass exodus faced by many under privileged countries has a negative effect not only on the people but also the countries themselves. This deprives the citizens of good teachers, sensible health care workers and expert engineers, ultimately leading to less chance of advancement for these countries.