Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

These days, an increasing number of people are attempting to use different ways of conventional treatment and medicines rather than see a doctor. From my perspective, this is a negative development which can lead to potentially harmful situations and also problems later on our life. On the one hand, People are looking for alternative treatment because it is cheaper than going to the hospital. It is widely known that medical treatment is quite expensive. Some people can afford to pay the bills, however, the rest who are having financial difficulties prefer to find alternative solutions to cure the ailment because they offer cheaper costs. For example, getting an alternative medicine for a broken leg only costs $20 compared to seeing a real doctor which costs about $100. On the other hand, visiting a doctor is safer than seeing a non-medical practitioner. People, seeing the practitioner, may be falsely diagnosed and given clinically unproven or even dangerous treatment. Some of them may worsen their condition, and eventually, patients will go to a professional doctor to treat their problems. For instance, when people break their leg, they go to a traditional therapist who treats them in the wrong way and alleviates their condition. They may suffer infections and cause the leg to be amputated. I believe for these reasons, people with health issues should see a doctor directly to get the right medical treatment rather than alternative treatment. In conclusion, although non-medical treatment offers cheaper expenses to people, it poses greater risks than going to the hospital. I believe that people should stick to visiting their doctor rather than betting on their own health.