Is Nuclear Power a boon or a bane? Do you agree or disagree?

The use of radioactive elements to power homes has been a hot topic of debate for decades. Some believe that nuclear energy does more harm than good while others believe in its contrast. I completely agree with the latter as it reduces our dependency on limited energy sources and is more feasible for even developing countries. To begin with, we all know that limited natural resources like coal and petroleum have been in use since the industrial revolution. At the current rate of its usage our next generation might only be able to see these in museums. These sources also cause a lot of pollution and are less efficient as compared to nuclear energy. For example, the USA currently owns nuclear powered ships and submarines which can function for fifty straight years as compared to coal powered ships which consumes two tons of coal every day. Thus, nuclear energy is more efficient and mitigates consumption of limited energy sources. In addition, although setting up nuclear plants might be expensive, in the long run it turns out to be more economical. For example, India, which is still a developing country has invested heavily in Nuclear deals as nuclear power has proven the long term gain. India has also invested in energy sources like solar, wind and hydroelectric but the power throughput cannot meet the demand. Therefore, establishing Nuclear plants is even more feasible for developing countries than setting up alternate source plants at a massive scale. In conclusion, thermonuclear energy is a boon for the planet as it helps us preserve other depleting resources and also are more economical in the long run.