Now a lot of people in the college are doing academic study, we should encourage them to learn a vocational skill like plumber, electrician. Do you agree or disagree?

Selecting subjects in territory education have been a paramount consideration for students. It has become common trend these days that students in high school have been pursuing their academic study and it is suggested to motivate them to take training on vocational skills, however, I firmly believe that university education has an edge over vocational education and I intend to discuss my views in the subsequent paragraphs. To begin with, there is a segment of society who favour this notion, believes that learning such motor proficiency would make individual not only self-dependent in one’s daily requirements but also proves immeasurably beneficial in case of emergency requirements. It is generally seen that at every home there is such requirements on almost every alternate day and having good hands on such things would make life easier as a person could manage different things by his own. For instance, if one knows plumbing and he faces water leakage at home than he could fix that easily in just few minutes without waiting for any plumber. Therefore, learning such skills makes people’s life easier as it aids individual to surmount possible impediments by fixing issues at their level. On the other hand, learning vocational skills is not a good option because not only it is arduous for one to continue it as a source of earning for a long time as it is an extremely hard job but also these jobs are less paid as compared to other skilled jobs. This is because there are myriad of high scale jobs available for those who have good academic degrees, which provides good salary package and modern lifestyle for an individual and his family. The Software Engineer profile can be taken as an example, which is one of the highly paid and reputed jobs in the market as compare to the electrician job. Hence, studying vocational skills are not ought to provide requisite career options to students. To conclude, although having training on vocational subjects are conducive, encouraging students to continue their academic studies are quite fruitful in terms of providing secure and highly skilled job options which require less physical work.