Some people believe that it is best to accept a bad situation, such as an unsatisfactory job or shortage of money. Others argue that it is better to try and improve such situations. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People's opinions differ as to whether we must accept negative circumstances when they occur or try to seek solutions in such situations. This essay will discuss both sides of this argument and elaborate on why I believe the latter is stronger. There are two primary reasons why many individuals argue that accepting difficult situations in life is the best option. To begin with, since unfortunate situations are often unavoidable, people should take a more philosophical view and accept them for what they are. For instance, in a family, conflicts are inevitable due to differences in opinion, habits between members of the family. Therefore, every member needs to learn how to accept them and vice versa; otherwise, they might put their relationship in jeopardy. Furthermore, the effort of always trying to deal with bad situations and striving to overcome unfavorable situations can lead to severe stress and anxiety. If people learn to embrace unfortunate things as inevitable events in life, they will be able to maintain a positive mood and lead a happier life. Nevertheless, I would argue that we should have a proactive attitude and try to find answers to any predicament in our lives. The major merit of acting proactively is that it keeps us in the state of continuous learning and improvement, which will provide us with valuable opportunities to enhance our awareness and foster self-improvement. As a result, we are more likely to become successful in our personal lives and careers. What is more, focusing on improving bad situations will allow people to convert some of their destructive emotions into more constructive ones. For example, negative emotions like anger or fear can be diverted into the feeling of empowerment in our ability to address our problems regardless of how difficult they might be. If people merely want to ignore their undesirable circumstances and allow the destructive mental states to fester, their mental health, in the long term, would be adversely affected. In conclusion, although accepting undesirable situations in life offers certain benefits, I am still of the opinion that it would be better to focus on improving such situations due to the reasons mentioned above.