In some countries, an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on unhealthy food. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent times, major health issues in every age group are increasing day by day. It is an undeniable fact that the biggest contributor to this is junk or unhealthy food. Some people believe that it is the high time governments should take initiative and increase the taxes on fast food. I strongly agree with this argument because one of the basic reasons behind individuals eating junk food is that its way cheaper than the healthy food. I will discuss my ideas in following paragraphs. There are a number of arguments in favour of my stance. The most significant one is that if unhealthy food will be expensive, people will definitely avoid eating it. Nowadays, almost every individual prefers fast food over home cooked food because of several reasons like it is cheaper, they don't have enough time to cook due to hectic schedule, etc. Another valid reason is that healthy foodstuff is very expensive all around the world. Most of the times, it is out of people's budget. They cannot afford healthy snack items. So, they eat junk food and give it to their children too. Secondly, people eat junk food because of the taste. They find it very delicious in comparison to food items which are good for their body but are tasteless. They don't realise anything until major health problems arise. Obesity is the biggest concern around the globe. For an instance, in the USA almost 60% children are obese, which is an alarm for governments to take some actions. To sum up, I will conclude by saying that if governments increase the taxes on bad food items, it will be a great initiative. People will eat healthier if they find them same priced. Major diseases can be controlled by this small step.