In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion ?

Fast food joints had a massive expansion in recent years and hence, in a few nations, a huge amount of humans has encountered physical fitness issues by consuming more junk food. Should higher authorities levy more taxes on such types of eating items? This essay disagrees that governments should tax this kind of food. Firstly, this essay will discuss how it will impact only a certain income group and secondly, it will discuss other alternatives to reduce intake of junk food. To begin with, increasing tariffs will not affect individuals who belong to the upper class and can afford such edible items. Although, a difference might be seen in lower and middle class people who consume junk food. That means increasing the tax on fast food will have only a marginal effect on its consumption. For example, the average income category of people might not take their families to fast food restaurants. On the other hand, the government should think of creating awareness about the ill-effects of junk food. If people are educated about the harmful effects of consuming this variety of food frequently, there is a bright possibility of them adopting a healthier lifestyle. For instance, many individuals follow what is shown in advertisements and broadcasting videos of fitness problems caused by eating fast food will surely direct them towards a balanced diet. To conclude, government increasing taxes on junk food will not give the desired results and that will be specific to selected groups of individuals. While, raising awareness of health concerns, will keep a lasting impression on an individual’s mind.