Some people think that it is fine for professional sportsmen and sportswomen to misbehave on or off the field, as long as they are playing well. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In the modern world, many individuals are concerned about the demeanours of the sports people, because young generation can imitate their actions. In this reason, many people believe that athletes should not behave poorly. However, others feel that if they are playing well, they can allow such kinds of actions. There is no denying that sports people have a social responsibility in front of the sports viewers. In this regard, good manners are essential for sportsmen and sportswomen, if they are willing to be a rule model for youngsters, and set a good example. Otherwise, they can mislead young people. A good illustration of this is famous athletes, who is addicted to drugs or tobacco products. For example, a former boxing champion Mike Tyson is advertising his drugs through mass media, and his action can negatively affect young people. On the other hand, they can do whatever they want, if they are playing well, because it can be beneficial for the entertainment of sports viewers. It is widely known that many individuals are keen to watch sporting events in order to get relaxation. In this reason, if athletes do some wrong actions, it can increase the number of fans. Therefore, trash talking is popular among fighters, because it can entertain people, and attract people’s attention. To illustrate, mixed martial arts fighter Conor McGregor is popular, because of his trash talking. Due to his ability, many individuals are interested in MMA. To conclude, although many people believe that sportsmen and sportswomen can behave poorly, because they are entertaining fans, others feel that they cannot allow such kinds of actions, because they have a social responsibility in front of the sports viewers.