Advertising discourages people from being different individuals by making us all want to do the same and look the same. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people argue that commercials deter people from being unique by encouraging them to be the same in action and appearance. I completely agree with this statement as ways like hiring famous people for commercials and word-of-mouth advertisements to make people see some products as a status symbols make advertisements more effective. One of the reasons for this tendency is celebrity endorsements. Many companies use famous people in their commercials to attract their fanbase. People, especially youngsters are more likely to trust famous people like actors before buying a product or service. Because they think that if the person they idolize uses this product, there is no way it can be bad. For example, one of the popular Turkish clothing brands Mavi has famous actors and actresses like Kivanc Tatlitug and Serenay Sarikaya to present their outfits. It is evident that after seeing their favourite people on TV, people started to wear expensive pairs of jeans and jackets that are produced by Mavi. Consequently, everyone looks the same and proud because they finally look like their idols. Another point to consider is that some products have become a status symbol because of word-of-mouth advertising. Some people buy these products regardless of their price as they want to show off their wealth to others. Take Apple smartphones as an example, every year in the USA people wait in long queues to purchase the latest Apple smartphones. It is not a coincidence that this trend affects people from all over the world and they do the exact same thing. Even people who cannot afford the phone trying to buy it to point out how luxurious the life they live is. For instance, people from Azerbaijan and Turkey take loans from banks to buy the latest version of the iPhone. As a result, the majority of people own the same phone and feel better than anyone who has not. In conclusion, I opine that advertisements can prevent people from being one of a kind due to appealing strategies like employing celebrities and using word-of-mouth advertising.