Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists, not local people, why is the case and what can be done to attract local people?

Tourists are most curious to see many museums and historical sites rather than native people. The reason behind that is a lack of interest of local people. To increase the popularity of historical monuments, government should charge only a reasonable entry ticket instead of expensive tickets. To initiate with, the first and foremost reason of less popularity of visiting old buildings among native people is that they take these places for granted and thought that they are not going anywhere far from them. That's why they have no particular interest to watch them.The other reason behind it is that there have been no changes in that place from quite a long time that makes people boring to see them again and again. For instance, My Uncle who lives in Patiala, never visited Sheesh Mahal after 2004. As a result, these worth-seeing places lose popularity and fame among the dwellers of that place. However, the government should change the certain policies regarding these places which include a reasonable entry fee as many residents do not afford expensive tickets which are required to enter in most of the museums.It can be seen that poverty-stricken people never get a chance to enjoy that unique sector. Effectively, more and more people went to see these spacious regions and can learn a lot about the history of their native land. To recapitulate, government should encourage local people to visit these precious historical sites by making them affordable for every person and bringing suitable changes in them from time to time so that they can gain the interest of local people.