Some people think that arts (such as painting and music) do not improve people's life and, therefore, government should not spend money on it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Government should not waste money on arts due to the reason that they do not help in uplifting the living conditions of the general public, as suggested by a few. I disagree to this narrative and believe that the arts are also important because they not only keep the cultural identity of a community alive rather they also serve as a source of entertainment for the general public and help to create awareness regarding different social evils. It is accepted that the government ought to spend more money and resources to provide the basic facilities like health, education and food for its citizens. This is because offering food, shelter, safe drinking water and free treatment to people are those basic human rights without which no community or country can label itself as a welfare state. Therefore, it is understandable that more attention and resources should be diverted towards these welfare projects. This, however, does not mean that arts is not valuable or should not be encouraged by the government at all. Arts in its various forms like painting, music and theatres are a great asset to have. Firstly, arts through various cultural shows and heritage exhibitions help to keep the culture of that nation alive and also serve as a mean to pass it on to the next generations. Stop funding such cultural events will probably result in the cultural demise of a civilisation over some time. Secondly, artists through their artistic masterpieces like paintings, music and theatre amuse millions of the people. Lack of the government support to these artworks will presumably deprive many people from the only entertainment they have in their lives out of their hectic work schedule. Lastly, painting exhibitions and theatres are being increasingly used, nowadays, to highlight the prevailing social issues of a local society. Pictures made by the artists and the theatres have been an important media tool to create awareness and divert the attention of the masses towards many communal problems that have never been taken into consideration by the general public. Therefore, loss of the financial support of these artistic works that are unable to survive without the government support can bring an end to many social forums of this kind. To conclude, I consider that the arts have a major role in our daily lives in the form of protecting local heritage and cultural identity of a nation, providing entertainment and a social platform to present social issues to the general public. It is, therefore, recommended that the government should spend on basic necessities, but not at the cost of the artwork.