Some people think certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars. To what extent do you agree?

It is undeniably true that the crime rate is increasing day by day, and so is the burden on the jails. Some people believe that bounding the prisoners to work for the community, without being paid, is far better than locking them up in the prisons. I completely agree with this point of view and following are the reasons to believe so. Firstly, if a policy is made to modify the punishment of the prisoners, such that they spend time doing unpaid community work, this could benefit the society and the people to a great extent. For example, if the educated prisoners are made to teach the children, especially the ones who belong to a poor socioeconomic class, this would be an extreme help in improving the graph of education, as more and more children would get the opportunity to get educated. Similarly, the accused ones, who are good mechanics, if made to work at garages without a salary, would turn out to be a helping hand for the workers over there. Secondly, working for the public, changes the mindset of the criminals and they start thinking differently. For instance, when they spend their punishment period in the lockups, they are in an environment that does not change them much and after leaving the jail, they get back on the same track. However, if they are made to serve the community, such as by cleaning the floors of the shopping malls or by nursing the sick people, their mind gets diverted from the criminal thoughts. Therefore, when they end their period of punishment, they transform into decent and helpful individuals. To conclude, if the criminals are made to do the community services, this would not only improve the society, as the crime rate would fall and they would help in a variety of sectors, but it would have an enormous positive impact on the prisoners' personalities, as well.