Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Currently, an increasing number of families are given priority to recycle daily trashes like papers and plastics. However, I hold the view that it’s not enough and laws should be used to tackle this issue. Applying Legislation in this field can save public resources and increase efficiency of recycling remarkably. Since legislation is compulsory, it can force citizens to recycle rubbish they generated instead of throwing away it directly. Then, government needn’t to invest lots of money on it and can mainly focus on investing more efficient technique to recycle waste as a method to face with the energy resources problem. What’s more, Laws with authority can aid raise public awareness about environmental protection. Quite a lot of people regard legislation as the symbol of civilization, without which our society can’t function well. Thereby, people are more likely to intend their responsibilities to secure the environment by laws. After changes of behaviour, they may come to know the pros of recycling more directly and clearly. Thus, it will enhance their determination. Definitely, it is a common that laws may have an adverse impact on human freedom, that is also the issue some people worried. But in the progress and development of society, numerous things have been sacrificed. For instance, with traffic laws, individuals cannot drive randomly as they want to. But it also thanks to that law, many lives are saved from traffic crashes. Thus, if laws develop our collective well-being, they cannot be deterred by the advocates of liberty. In conclusion, there exists varieties of the benefits of applying laws to force citizens to recycle trash from homes, not only promoting a more environmentally friendly lifestyle but also improving the efficiency of recycling. Though legislation might hurt people’s some rights, it can be balanced well with rational means.