Some people believe online reading materials should only be used for a child to learn to read, whereas others believe only printed material should be used. Discuss both views and give your opinion

It is argued by some people that children should only use online materials to learn to read, while others choose the other extreme, claiming that only printed ones should be used. In my opinion, children should not stick to only one form of reading materials. Instead, making use of both types is more beneficial for them. On the one hand, online reading materials have several advantages over their printed counterparts. Firstly, online materials can be obtained and stored at ease thanks to the advancement of information technology. As a result, children can get books and magazines they are interested in without leaving their homes. This can further save time, which is spent on obtaining the books, for reading them. Secondly, the content of online materials is often in a wide range with more diverse cultures, compared to the printed ones. Hence, online materials are beneficial for children to deepen their understanding of different cultures in the world. On the other hand, printed reading materials also possess some insurmountable merits, which are hard to find in the online ones. Firstly, printed materials are provided to the children in their original form, which is almost the same as the books in hundreds of years ago. They can help children build connections with the historical culture. For example, printed materials are less harmful to children's eyes, which are immature and vulnerable to the screens used to read online. In conclusion, both online and printed materials have their pros and cons and can not be replaced by the other. From my perspective, I believe that children are most benefited if they make use of both types of materials when they learn to read.