Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is to have drivers tested every year. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Whether finding an effective solution to deal with traffic jams requires testing drivers annually is often debated. The writer of this essay completely aligns with this notion, as not only does annual testing ensure up-to-date knowledge of traffic laws but also the identification of diminishing driving skills. Comprehending that annual testing guarantees a current understanding of traffic regulations is crucial. To explain further, with the frequent changes in flow regulations and urban development, periodic testing could ensure drivers are always aware of the latest laws and regulations, contributing to road safety. For example, the majority of people living in Finland have been educated carefully about movement rules, so the accident rate has been decreasing in recent years. Another advantage is the ability to recognize declining driving abilities. In fact, as people age, their driving abilities can diminish due to factors like slower reaction times or deteriorating vision. Therefore, annual tests can help identify these issues early, potentially preventing accidents. Taking Vietnam as a contextual example, where the ratio of older individuals was higher than in other countries, the government always paid attention to driving tests to help them sharpen their driving skills in order to minimize the risk of accidents as much as possible. In conclusion, the compelling argument in favour of yearly driver testing is that it guarantees a current understanding of traffic statutes and identifies declining driving abilities. Hence, yearly driver education greatly improves driving safety.